Marquette University News Release

Marquette University to honor outstanding graduates at Alumni National Awards Weekend, April 25-27

March 11, 2013

Marquette University will honor 53 accomplished alumni and friends for their personal achievements and support of the university during Alumni National Awards Weekend, April 25-27.

Short profiles of the honorees, including Alumnus of the Year Donald W. Layden, Jr., Arts ’79, Law ’82, are available on the Alumni National Awards website. The site allows individuals to send a congratulatory message or make a gift in honor of an award recipient. Event registration information for any of the 13 college-specific events during the weekend is also available online.

All-University Award Recipients
Alumnus of the Year Award: Donald W. Layden, Jr., Arts ’79, Law ’82
Layden is a partner at Quarles & Brady and an operating partner with Baird Venture Partners.  He also has 20 years of operating experience in managing technology-enabled service businesses and held senior management positions at Fiserv, Marshall & Ilsley Corp., and Metavante. In addition to sitting on numerous corporate boards, he serves on the boards of the United Way of Greater Milwaukee, the Milwaukee Area Workforce Investment Board, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Summerfest, and Schools That Can Milwaukee, among others.

Professional Achievement Award: Dr. John F. Wakerly, Eng ’70
Wakerly spent 30 years, mostly part time, on Stanford University’s faculty while also juggling high-profile roles in industry, including as chief technology officer of a division at Cisco Systems and co-founder of three startups, one of which was acquired by Google in 2010.

Service to the Community Award: Donald R. Kojis, Arts ’61
Kojis earned 10 Marquette basketball records (he was once the all-time scoring leader with 1,504 points and still ranks as the top career rebounder with 1,222 boards) before his 12 seasons in the NBA. But he has still found time to help more than 9,000 people — and rising every year — through Whispering Winds, a 161-acre Catholic family camp and conference center he co-founded in the forested mountains outside San Diego.

Service to Marquette Award: Kathleen Schleif Roth, D.D.S., Dent ’74
Roth co-chairs the School of Dentistry’s Building for the Future Campaign and served on the School of Dentistry’s Advisory Council and Reunion Council. She was also the first female president of the Wisconsin Dental Association and only the second female president of the American Dental Association.

Spirit of Marquette Award: Charlotte M. Deleste, CJPA ’94 and Ronald D. Giordan, Comm ’96
This power couple juggles demanding careers — she’s a morning news anchor for Madison’s WISC-TV, and he’s the social media strategy director for Mid-West Digital Marketing — while parenting their two young boys. Yet they also make time for Gio’s Garden, a nonprofit they founded that offers respite care for children with special needs.

Friend of the University Award: Geri Dodge Fotsch
The Fotsch family motto is “To whom much is given, much is expected.”  Fotsch and her late husband, Bill, have fulfilled those words by donating generously to Engineering Hall and endowing an engineering scholarship in honor of Bill’s father. But perhaps their greatest gift to the university? Sending all eight of their children to Marquette.

Each college will honor outstanding alumni at events throughout the weekend. The names of the alumni to be honored are below. Visit the Marquette University National Alumni Awards website for additional information on each award winner.

Helen Way Klingler College of Arts and Sciences
Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – John C. Schaefer, Mooresville, N.C.
Professional Achievement Award – Dr. Marilyn E. Braddock, Norfolk, Va.
Entrepreneurial Award – Missy Farren, New Rochelle, N.Y.
A Person for Others Award – Roger A. Baeher, Wauwatosa, Wis.
Young Alumna of the Year Award – Dr. Gretchen A. Heinrichs, Denver

Association of Marquette University Women
Mary Neville Bielefeld Award – Mary Joan Stuessi, Milwaukee

College of Business Administration and Graduate School of Management
Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – John W. Splude, Greendale, Wis.
Entrepreneurial Award – Christopher J. Dalton, Crystal Lake, Ill.
Service Award – James A. Waldvogel, Mendota Heights, Minn.
Young Alumnus of the Year Award – Eric A. Koester, Washington, D.C.

J. William and Mary Diederich College of Communication
Journalism By-Line Award – Greg Kot, Chicago
Professional Achievement Award – Timothy P. Dodge, Mequon, Wis.
Young Alumnus of the Year Award – Daniel M. Pudi, Pasadena, Calif.
James T. Tiedge Memorial Award – Ellen Nowak Belk, Fort Mills, S.C.

School of Dentistry
Distinguished Alumnus in Dentistry Award – Peter J. Polverini, D.D.S., Ann Arbor, Mich.
Outstanding Dental Service Award – James L. Van Miller, D.D.S., Green Bay, Wis.

College of Education
Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award – Dr. Janice E. Jackson, Newark, Calif.
Educational Policy and Leadership Achievement Award – Dr. Eileen Mihm Schwalbach, Shorewood, Wis.
Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology Achievement Award – Dr. James S. Frey, Whitefish Bay, Wis.
Young Alumna of the Year Award – Dr. Jessica Thull Brundage, Milwaukee

College of Engineering
Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – Thomas G. Searle, Parker, Colo.
Professional Achievement Award – Michael J. Harsh, Wales, Wis.
Entrepreneurial Award – Daniel Casey, Chicago
Service Award – Lawrence V. Jacques, Winnetka, Ill.
Young Alumna of the Year Award – Katherine Litkowiec Medalle, Cary, Ill.

College of Health Sciences
Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – Dr. Dean C. Garstecki, Wilmette, Ill.
Professional Achievement Award – Capt. Karen Klingenberg Buikema, Las Vegas
Service to Marquette Award – Catherine Crowe Cauley, Oconomowoc, Wis.
Young Alumnus of the Year Award – Dr. Douglas J. Bosner, Columbus, Ohio

Department of Intercollegiate Athletics 
Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award – William R. O’Toole, Pleasant Prairie, Wis.
Lifetime Achievement Award – George R. Thompson, III, Glendale, Wis.
Friend of Marquette Athletics Award – Steven R. Michels, Seattle
Young Alumnus of the Year Award – Timothy M. Kummer, Minneapolis
M Club Hy Popuch Memorial Service Award – Terence P. Cahill, Oconomowoc, Wis.

Law School
Alumnus of the Year Award – John S. Shiely, Elm Grove, Wis.
Lifetime Achievement Award – Margadette Moffatt Demet, Milwaukee
Howard B. Eisenberg Service Award – Kristin Cibik Occhetti, Milwaukee
Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumna of the Year Award – Eryn M. Doherty, Santa Monica, Calif.

College of Nursing
Distinguished Alumna of the Year Award – Dr. Carol Olson Long, Phoenix
Distinguished Alumna in Service to Nursing Award – Dr. Sharon Y. Irving, Philadelphia
Friends of the College of Nursing Award – Cynthia Fridl Gallagher and Michael L. Gallagher, Brookfield, Wis.

College of Professional Studies
Spirit of the College of Professional Studies Award – Frank P. Horning, New Berlin, Wis.
Leadership Excellence Award – Ayiesha J. Domino-Brown, Milwaukee
Friend of the College Award – Michael L. Boelter, Franklin, Wis.

Alumni Association Board of Directors
Pedro Arrupe Award – Anna C. Feeley, Fort Collins, Colo.

About Brian Dorrington

Brian Dorrington

Brian is the senior director of university communication in the Office of Marketing and Communication. Contact Brian at (414) 288-4719 or View all posts by .